House Representative

Anchía, Rafael


Rafael Anchia Appointed to Joint Interim Committee to Study Public School Finance System

AUSTIN – State Representative Rafael Anchia was appointed by Speaker Joe Straus to the Joint Interim Committee to Study Public School Finance System on February 29, 2012. Currently, five school finance lawsuits have been filed against the state, covering more than 500 districts and 3 million students. Four of the lawsuits claim that the school finance system approved by the state Legislature is not equitable in how it distributes funding to school districts, and the fifth lawsuit argues that the state is not spending its education funds efficiently enough.

"I am proud to have been chosen to serve on this important committee," said Rep. Anchia. "and I am grateful to the Speaker for his confidence in me. I look forward to working with my colleagues from both the Texas House and Senate in finding a solution to the perennial issue of how to adequately fund the public schools that educate nearly five million children in the state of Texas."

Lt. Governor Dewhurst has appointed Senator Florence Shapiro (Plano) as joint chair of the Committee. Members include: Senators Bob Deuell (Greenville), Robert Duncan (Lubbock), Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa (McAllen), Jane Nelson (Flower Mound), Dan Patrick (Houston), Kel Seliger (Amarillo), Carlos Uresti (San Antonio), Leticia Van de Putte (San Antonio), Royce West (Dallas) and Tommy Williams (The Woodlands).

Speaker Straus has appointed Representative Jimmie Don Aycock (Killeen) as joint chair of the committee. The committee members include: Representatives Alma Allen (Houston), Rafael Anchia (Dallas), Rob Eissler (The Woodlands), Ryan Guillen (Rio Grande City), Donna Howard (Austin), Dan Huberty (Houston), Susan King (Abilene), Todd Smith (Euless), Vicki Truitt (Keller) and Mike Villarreal (San Antonio).
Representative Rafael Anchia is a former DISD school board trustee serving his fourth term in the Texas House and represents District 103 of northwest Dallas County.

Contact: Liz Zornes
(512) 463-0746