Member's Page

Rep.Sherman, Carl Sr.

member image

Sherman Appointed to House Appropriations Committee  print page

by: Rep. Sherman, Carl Sr.

AUSTIN – Texas House member Carl O. Sherman, (D-HD 109) appointed to the highly sough after Appropriations Committee by Speaker of the House, Dennis Bonnen. The esteemed committee is led by Chairman John Zerwas, which has jurisdiction over all bills and resolutions appropriating money from the state treasury, among other key duties. Representative Sherman joins a small number of freshman representatives who have been appointed to the House Appropriations Committee over the years.

“I am truly blessed and honored to join the House Appropriations Committee.“ Representative Sherman said Wednesday after his appointment. I am committed to working to improve education, increase wages for our teachers, as well as improve health care benefits for our retired teachers. Moreover, I believe all Texans deserve to have access to affordable housing and better health care, and I plan to work tirelessly towards those efforts.”

Former State Representative Helen Giddings, who Sherman succeeds in retirement also sat on the Appropriations Committee. Giddings stated, “The House Appropriations Committee determines the state's spending priorities, which in turn has a huge impact on policy,” Giddings further stated, “I am confident that Representative Sherman will put in the time and effort necessary to approach the appropriations process in the most responsible manner. The citizens of Texas will be well served with him in this position.”

Representative Sherman was also named to the House Correction Committee along with eight other members and the House Administration Committee consisting of 11 members total. “I look forward to working alongside my colleagues and Chairman Zerwas to promote efficiency and accountability within every state agency and program,” Representative Sherman concluded. “I extend my sincere thanks to Speaker Bonnen for the opportunity to serve on this vital Committee.”

Contact: Rita Cook or Tamara Sadler

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room E1.416

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0953

(512) 463-5887 Fax

103 N. Dallas Avenue

Lancaster, Texas 75146