Member's Page

Rep.Morrison, Geanie W.

member image


by: Rep. Morrison, Geanie W.

Rep. Morrison was asked by Speaker Straus to Chair the Transportation Committee for the House of Representatives. This committee is responsible for oversight of the critical infrastructure development for the state including roads, railways, and ports. "With the population and industry growth that Texas continues to experience, our state must plan for future needs, while continuously maintaining our present transportation infrastructure. This requires a very coordinated effort with local, state and federal partners and a responsible and proactive vision." - Rep. Morrison

The Speaker also returned Rep. Morrison to the Higher Education Committee which she has chaired in three prior sessions and served as a member in several others. Rep. Morrison stated that, "Higher Education, whether at a community college to earn a certificate or an associate's degree or at a four-year institution to earn a higher degree, creates essential paths to success, not only for our students, but for the economic development of the state as a whole. Providing access to these resources is of great importance to the businesses in our communities and we must ensure that we continue our efforts to develop our institutions to meet these growing and changing needs."

Representative Morrison will also serve on the Select Committee on Ports, Innovation and Infrastructure which has been created by the Speaker for this session. Rep. Morrison indicated that she will, "… be working to ensure that these critical components of transportation and trade are developed to their fullest potential and have the necessary support from the state to maintain Texas' competitiveness and to meet future demands.

"I would like to thank Speaker Straus for selecting me to serve on these committees as they will each present significant opportunities to improve the daily lives of the citizens of District 30 and the great state of Texas." - Rep. Morrison.

State Representative Geanie W. Morrison, R-District 30, is currently serving her Tenth term in the Texas Legislature. The south Texas district includes Aransas, Calhoun, DeWitt, Goliad, Refugio, and Victoria counties.

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room 1W.6

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0456

(512) 463-0158 Fax

1908 N. Laurent, Suite 500

Victoria, Texas 77901

(361) 572-0196

(361) 576-0747 Fax