Member's Page

Rep.Craddick, Tom

member image

Craddick Announces Appointments to the Pain Treatment Review Committee  print page

by: Rep. Craddick, Tom

(Austin) – Speaker Tom Craddick (Midland), today, announced the appointments of Judge Polly Jackson Spencer, Dr. Miguel Bedolla, Dr. Carl D'Agostino, Russell Meyers and Dr. Judson J. Somerville to the Pain Treatment Review Committee. The Committee was created by an amendment Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon (San Antonio) added to Senate Bill 1879 during the 80th Legislative Session.

The committee will review Texas statutes related to prescription medication and controlled substances and address and recommend any needed changes in law to the lieutenant governor, the speaker of the house, and the House and Senate committees that have jurisdiction over these issues.

Dr. Miguel Bedolla is a family practice doctor and healthcare consultant from San Antonio. Bedolla received his medical degree from the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México in Mexico City.

Dr. Carl D'Agostino is an anesthesiologist and a pain medicine specialist who has practiced in Midland and Odessa for more than 18 years. He graduated from the University of New Mexico School of Medicine.

Russell Meyers is the chief executive officer of Midland Memorial Hospital. He holds a B.A. in economics and managerial studies from Rice University, and he received an M.S. in administration of health services at the University of Houston – Clear Lake. He is a fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives, and he is currently president of the board of United Way of Midland.

Dr. Judson Sommerville is an anesthesiologist from Laredo. He received a B.S. from the University of Texas at Austin and his medical degree from the University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston. Dr. Somerville is a board certified member of several pain and anesthesiologist agencies.

Judge Polly Spencer is a lawyer from San Antonio. She has a B.A. in history from Duke University and graduated from St. Mary's School of Law. She has served as a judge on the Probate County Court and is a fellow of the Texas Bar Foundation.


Alexis DeLee at 512-463-0223

Contact Info


Capitol Address:
District Address:

Room 1W.9

P.O. Box 2910

Austin, TX 78768

(512) 463-0500

(512) 463-7722 Fax

500 West Texas, Suite 880

Midland, TX 79701

(432) 682-3000

(432) 684-4864 Fax