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Drone Owners Required to 

Register Aircrafts with FAA 
 
 

The Federal Aviation Association officially launched its 
done registry right before the holidays,  which now 
requires all drones weighing .55 pounds and less than 55 
pounds to be registered. All drones purchased before Dec. 
21, 2015 must be registered by February 19th, and any 
drones bought later, including those last minute Christmas 
presents, should be registered before their first flight. 

The need for registration became evident when some 
people started flying drones irresponsibly. Operators flew 
them too close to manned aircraft, around national 
monuments and near firefighters combating western 
wildfires. Holding those people accountable was  difficult 
because a drone can be operated from a good distance 
away. Even if it crashed and was recovered, law 
enforcement had no 'operator information' to follow up 
with. With the new registration policy in place owners 
must provide their name, physical address and email 
address. They’ll pay $5 for the privilege, and in return, they 
will receive a registration number that they must put on 
their drones and will be valid for 3 years.  

" Indeed, operating a drone can be a fun and interesting 
hobby but it is also important to understand that you are 
accountable to the public for flying responsibly. Before 
you rush outside to take flight, remember to register your 
drone with the FAA. Registering your drone is any 
extremely important step in the set up process that you 
do not want to ignore," stated Rep. Roberto Alonzo. 

Flying a drone without properly registering could mean 
stiff fines for the owner. The maximum civil penalty is a 
fine of up to $27,000 from the FAA. In addition to those, 
you could also potentially face criminal penalties, including 
jail time and fines upwards of $250,00. 

 

 

 
 

For more information concerning these topics or to schedule an appointment please call (512) 463-0408 or visit www.house.state.tx.us 
 

 
Texas Open-Carry Law  

Goes into Effect Jan. 1    
  
Starting January 1, 2016, Texans with a concealed 
handgun license will be allowed to carry their firearms 
openly, with some restrictions. In order to remain 
within the legal parameters, those licensed to carry 
must holster their gun in a hip or belt holster.  
 
"The Second Amendment is one that is highly valued 
by many Texans. However, protecting the safety and 
rights of ALL citizens, both those that choose to bear 
arms and those that do not, should take precedent in 
moving forward with the new Open-Carry Gun Laws," 
urges Rep. Alonzo 
 
Most laws passed in the 2015 legislative session took 
effect Sept.1, but open carry was given a four-month 
delay at the Departments of Public Safety's request to 
better prepare law officers for the change.  Officers 
have received and reviewed the law, and dispatchers 
have been trained to ask a series of questions if people 
call in regards to open-carry.  
 
Under the law, private businesses and places of worship 
can choose not to allow exposed firearms on their 
premises by displaying approved signs. The state's 
"campus carry" law that goes into effect Aug. 1, 2016 
for public universities will allow permit holders to carry 
only concealed handguns on campus. However, private 
schools can still opt-out of this firearms law. Southern 
Methodist University and Texas Christian University are 
among those private schools to 'opt-out,' in adherence 
of their long-standing ban on weapons. 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

Rep. Alonzo presents 
a $10,000 check to 

James Hogg Elementary 
on behalf of AT&T. 
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