Transportation Committee

Quick Links

Committee info:

  • Clerk:
  • MacGregor Stephenson
  • Room:
  • EXT E2.122
  • Phone:
  • (512) 463-0818

Committee Members


House Member Rep. Morrison

Rep. Morrison,
Geanie W.

Vice Chair

House Member Rep. Martinez

Rep. Martinez,


House Member Rep. Burkett

Rep. Burkett,


House Member Rep. Davis

Rep. Davis,


House Member Rep. Goldman

Rep. Goldman,


House Member Rep. Israel

Rep. Israel,


House Member Rep. Minjarez

Rep. Minjarez,


House Member Rep. Phillips

Rep. Phillips,


House Member Rep. Pickett

Rep. Pickett,


House Member Rep. Simmons

Rep. Simmons,


House Member Rep. Thompson

Rep. Thompson,


House Member Rep. Thompson

Rep. Thompson,


House Member Rep. Wray

Rep. Wray,


       Sec. 36.  TRANSPORTATION. (a) The committee shall have 13
  members, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:
               (1)  commercial motor vehicles, both bus and truck, and
  their control, regulation, licensing, and operation;
               (2)  the Texas highway system, including all roads,
  bridges, and ferries constituting a part of the system;
               (3)  the licensing of private passenger vehicles to
  operate on the roads and highways of the state;
               (4)  the regulation and control of traffic on the
  public highways of the State of Texas;
               (5)  railroads, street railway lines, interurban
  railway lines, steamship companies, and express companies;
               (6)  airports, air traffic, airlines, and other
  organizations engaged in transportation by means of aerial flight;
               (7)  water transportation in the State of Texas, and
  the rivers, harbors, and related facilities used in water
  transportation and the agencies of government exercising
  supervision and control thereover;
               (8)  the regulation of metropolitan transit; and
               (9)  the following state agencies: the Texas Department
  of Motor Vehicles, the Texas Department of Transportation, and the
  Texas Transportation Commission.
         (b)  The chair of the committee shall appoint a permanent
  subcommittee on long-term transportation infrastructure planning
  consisting of not fewer than seven members to consider all matters
  pertaining to the transportation needs of the state during the next
  10 years and funding mechanisms to provide for meeting those needs.