State Affairs Committee

Quick Links

Committee info:

  • Clerk:
  • Toni Barcellona
  • Room:
  • EXT E2.108
  • Phone:
  • (512) 463-0814

Committee Members


House Member Rep. Cook

Rep. Cook,

Vice Chair

House Member Rep. Giddings

Rep. Giddings,


House Member Rep. Craddick

Rep. Craddick,


House Member Rep. Farrar

Rep. Farrar,


House Member Rep. Geren

Rep. Geren,


House Member Rep. Guillen

Rep. Guillen,


House Member Rep. King

Rep. King,


House Member Rep. Kuempel

Rep. Kuempel,


House Member Rep. Meyer

Rep. Meyer,


House Member Rep. Oliveira

Rep. Oliveira,


House Member Rep. Paddie

Rep. Paddie,


House Member Rep. Rodriguez

Rep. Rodriguez,


House Member Rep. Smithee

Rep. Smithee,
John T.


       Sec. 35.  STATE AFFAIRS. The committee shall have 13
  members, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:
               (1)  questions and matters of state policy;
               (2)  the administration of state government;
               (3)  the organization, operation, powers, regulation,
  and management of state departments, agencies, and institutions;
               (4)  the operation and regulation of public lands and
  state buildings;
               (5)  the duties and conduct of officers and employees
  of the state government;
               (6)  the operation of state government and its agencies
  and departments; all of above except where jurisdiction is
  specifically granted to some other standing committee;
               (7)  access of the state agencies to scientific and
  technological information;
               (8)  the regulation and deregulation of electric
  utilities and the electric industry;
               (9)  the regulation and deregulation of
  telecommunications utilities and the telecommunications industry;
               (10)  electric utility regulation as it relates to
  energy production and consumption;
               (11)  pipelines, pipeline companies, and all others
  operating as common carriers in the state;
               (12)  the regulation and deregulation of other
  industries jurisdiction of which is not specifically assigned to
  another committee under these rules; and
               (13)  the following organizations and state agencies:
  the Council of State Governments, the National Conference of State
  Legislatures, the Office of the Governor, the Texas Facilities
  Commission, the Department of Information Resources, the Inaugural
  Endowment Fund Committee, the Sunset Advisory Commission, the
  Public Utility Commission of Texas, and the Office of Public
  Utility Counsel.