Culture, Recreation & Tourism Committee

Quick Links

Committee info:

  • Clerk:
  • Jesse Sifuentez
  • Room:
  • EXT E2.134
  • Phone:
  • (512) 463-1974

Committee Members


House Member Rep. Frullo

Rep. Frullo,

Vice Chair

House Member Rep. Faircloth

Rep. Faircloth,


House Member Rep. Bonnen

Rep. Bonnen,


House Member Rep. Fallon

Rep. Fallon,


House Member Rep. Gervin-Hawkins

Rep. Gervin-Hawkins,


House Member Rep. Krause

Rep. Krause,


House Member Rep. Martinez

Rep. Martinez,


       Sec. 8.  CULTURE, RECREATION, AND TOURISM. The committee
  shall have seven  members, with jurisdiction over:
               (1)  the creation, operation, and control of state
  parks, including the development, maintenance, and operation of
  state parks in connection with the sales and use tax imposed on
  sporting goods, but not including any matter within the
  jurisdiction of the Committee on Appropriations;
               (2)  the regulation and control of the propagation and
  preservation of wildlife and fish in the state;
               (3)  the development and regulation of the fish and
  oyster industries of the state;
               (4)  hunting and fishing in the state, and the
  regulation and control thereof, including the imposition of fees,
  fines, and penalties relating to that regulation;
               (5)  the regulation of other recreational activities;
               (6)  cultural resources and their promotion,
  development, and regulation;
               (7)  historical resources and their promotion,
  development, and regulation;
               (8)  promotion and development of Texas' image and
               (9)  preservation and protection of Texas' shrines,
  monuments, and memorials;
               (10)  international and interstate tourist promotion
  and development;
               (11)  the Texas Economic Development and Tourism Office
  as it relates to the subject-matter jurisdiction of this committee;
               (12)  the Gulf States Marine Fisheries Compact; and
               (13)  the following state agencies: the Parks and
  Wildlife Department, the Texas Commission on the Arts, the State
  Cemetery Committee, the Texas State Library and Archives
  Commission, the Texas Historical Commission, the State
  Preservation Board, the San Jacinto Historical Advisory Board, and
  an office of state government to the extent the office promotes the
  Texas music industry.