Judiciary & Civil Jurisprudence Committee

Quick Links

Committee info:

  • Clerk:
  • Beth Klunder
  • Room:
  • EXT E2.120
  • Phone:
  • (512) 463-0790

Committee Members


House Member Rep. Smithee

Rep. Smithee,
John T.

Vice Chair

House Member Rep. Farrar

Rep. Farrar,


House Member Rep. Gutierrez

Rep. Gutierrez,


House Member Rep. Hernandez

Rep. Hernandez,


House Member Rep. Laubenberg

Rep. Laubenberg,


House Member Rep. Murr

Rep. Murr,
Andrew S.


House Member Rep. Neave

Rep. Neave,


House Member Rep. Rinaldi

Rep. Rinaldi,


House Member Rep. Schofield

Rep. Schofield,


       Sec. 23.  JUDICIARY AND CIVIL JURISPRUDENCE. The committee
  shall have nine members, with jurisdiction over all matters
  pertaining to:
               (1)  fines and penalties arising under civil laws;
               (2)  civil law, including rights, duties, remedies, and
  procedures thereunder, and including probate and guardianship
               (3)  civil procedure in the courts of Texas;
               (4)  administrative law and the adjudication of rights
  by administrative agencies;
               (5)  permission to sue the state;
               (6)  uniform state laws;
               (7)  creating, changing, or otherwise affecting courts
  of judicial districts of the state;
               (8)  establishing districts for the election of
  judicial officers;
               (9)  the State Commission on Judicial Conduct;
               (10)  the Office of the Attorney General, including its
  organization, powers, functions, and responsibilities;
               (11)  courts and court procedures except where
  jurisdiction is specifically granted to some other standing
  committee; and
               (12)  the following state agencies: the Supreme Court,
  the courts of appeals, the Court of Criminal Appeals, the State
  Commission on Judicial Conduct, the Office of Court Administration
  of the Texas Judicial System, the State Law Library, the Texas
  Judicial Council, the Judicial Branch Certification Commission,
  the Office of the Attorney General, the Board of Law Examiners, the
  State Bar of Texas, and the State Office of Administrative