General Investigating & Ethics Committee

Quick Links

Committee info:

  • Clerk:
  • Bobby Joe Dale
  • Room:
  • EXT E2.170
  • Phone:
  • (512) 463-0780

Committee Members


House Member Rep. Davis

Rep. Davis,

Vice Chair

House Member Rep. Moody

Rep. Moody,


House Member Rep. Capriglione

Rep. Capriglione,


House Member Rep. Nevárez

Rep. Nevárez,


House Member Rep. Price

Rep. Price,


House Member Rep. Shine

Rep. Shine,


House Member Rep. Turner

Rep. Turner,


  (a) The committee shall have seven  members of the house appointed
  by the speaker. The speaker shall appoint the chair and the
  vice-chair of the committee.
         (b)  The committee has all the powers and duties of a general
  investigating committee and shall operate as the general
  investigating committee of the house according to the procedures
  prescribed by Subchapter B, Chapter 301, Government Code, and the
  rules of the house, as applicable.
         (c)  The committee may investigate a matter related to the
  misconduct, malfeasance, misfeasance, abuse of office, or
  incompetency of an individual or officer under Chapter 665,
  Government Code. The committee has all the powers and duties
  conferred by that chapter for the purpose of conducting the
  investigation, including the authority to propose articles of
         (d)  The committee has jurisdiction over all matters
  pertaining to the conduct of and ethical standards applicable to
  state and local government officers and employees, including
  individuals appointed to offices of the executive branch of state
  government for the purpose of ensuring that an appointed officer is
  acting in the best interests of the State of Texas.
         (e)  The committee has jurisdiction over the operation of,
  including transparency in the reporting of financial transactions
  by, agencies of the judicial and executive branches of state
  government and affiliated entities or foundations.